Graduate Education Advancement Board

The Graduate Education Advancement Board (GEAB) assists The Graduate School and the University in generating broad support and funding for graduate education at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Members of the board are appointed based on their distinguished character and leadership, a belief in the importance of graduate education at Carolina, a sensitivity to different perspectives about graduate education and fund-raising, and a willingness to apply their special skills and strengths to advance the mission of The Graduate School.

The Graduate School expresses its gratitude to this special group of advocates.

GEAB Members

Dr. Andrew McMillan Jr. (chair)
B.A., 1994
Shepherdstown, WV
Chief operating officer, Jefferson Distributing Company

Dr. Donald S. Buckley
B.S., 1959
Chesapeake, VA
Former president and chief executive officer, Chesapeake General Hospital and Chesapeake Health

Dr. F. Ivy Carroll
Ph.D., 1961
Durham, NC
Director of organic and medicinal chemistry, Research Triangle Institute
Distinguished fellow for medicinal chemistry

Mr. Debashish Chatterjee
M.S., 1990
Fremont, CA
Founder, Stealth
Mentor, IITStartups
Former CEO/founder DxContinuum

Lisa Langley Fey
B.A., 1985
Atlanta, GA
CEO/founder, Atta Girl LLC

Dr. Harold E. Glass
Ph.D., 1976
Philadelphia, PA
Former president/founder, TTC-LLC
Research professor of health policy at the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia

Dr. Frances S. Hoch
M.A., 1969 & Ph.D., 1976
Raleigh, NC
Former section chief, N.C. Department of Public Instruction

Mr. Paul Hoch
M.A., 1975
Raleigh, NC
Former history instructor, Wake Technical Community College

Ms. Blair H. Kutrow
B.A., 1984
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Owner, Sola Salon Studios
Founder and business manager, Coastal Kids Therapy

Dr. Pam Lattimore
B.A., 1981 & Ph.D. 1987
Durham, NC
Director, Center for Justice, Safety, and Resilience; RTI International

Mr. Howard N. Lee
MSW, 1966
Chapel Hill, NC
Founder, Howard N. Lee Institute
Former executive director, North Carolina Education Cabinet
Former commissioner, North Carolina Utilities Commission
Former North Carolina State Senator, 16th Senatorial District

Dr. Felicia E. Mebane
BSBA, 1989; MSPH, 1994
Virginia Beach, VA
Executive director of public health initiatives, Norfolk State University

Dr. George Morgan
M.S., 1975; Ph.D., 1977
SunTrust Professor of Finance, Virginia Tech

Dr. Drusilla Lea Scott
Ph.D., 1986
Chapel Hill, NC
Vice president, Regulatory Affairs, Dova Pharmaceuticals
Former vice president, BioDelivery Sciences International
Former senior vice president, regulatory affairs, Cempra Pharmaceuticals

Charles V. Stewart
Ph.D., 1975
Silver Spring, MD
Former senior counsel, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Dr. Judith Thorn
Ph.D., 1997
Galesburg, IL
Professor of biology, Knox College

Dr. Leah Townsend
B.S., 2011 & Ph.D., 2017
Durham, NC
President, Pulvinar Neuro

Dr. Anne S. York
Ph.D., 1991
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Associate professor emerita, Creighton University’s Heider College of Business

GEAB Members Emeriti

Dr. Timothy M. Crowder
Chief operating officer, Aerami Therapeutics
Former technical director, Innovation Centre of Excellence, GlaxoSmithKline
Former Caroline H. and Thomas S. Royster Jr. Dissertation Fellow, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Mr. Kenneth G. Smith (former chair)
Managing director, Park Street Capital, LLC

Ms. Peace Sullivan
Certified psychoanalyst (retired)
Director of development for the Training Institute for Mental Health in New York City

Dr. Priscilla P. Taylor
Former executive director, The Cemala Foundation, Inc.
Former member of University of North Carolina Board of Governors

GEAB Honorary Members

Mrs. Barbara Hardin

For more information on supporting graduate education:

Kate Moser
(919) 962-7772