Faculty Directors and Faculty Board

Royster SOF Directors

Marsha Collins, The Caroline H. and Thomas S. Royster Distinguished Professor for Graduate Education, English & Comparative Literature
David Pfennig, The Caroline H. and Thomas S. Royster Distinguished Professor for Graduate Education, Biology
Julia Wood, The Caroline H. and Thomas S. Royster Distinguished Professor for Graduate Education, Communication Studies
Laurie Maffly-Kipp, Religious Studies
Tom Kawula, Microbiology & Immunology
Peter Robinson, Geography
Jonathan Hess, German Studies
Susan Lord, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
John McGowan, English & Comparative Literature

Royster Faculty Board

We are always looking for faculty volunteers to serve on our Royster Faculty Board. This is a great opportunity for current and recently retired faculty members to become better acquainted with this prestigious fellowship program and also to learn about the fellowship process in general. If you or someone in your program is interested in participating, please contact Associate Dean Sandra Hoeflich at sandra@unc.edu.

Royster Faculty Board 2016-2017

  • Aysenil Belger, Psychiatry
  • Roberto Camassa, Mathematics
  • Sharon Cannon, Business
  • Ed Collins, Microbiology & Immunology
  • Marsha Collins, English & Comparative Literature
  • Nikolay Dokholyan, Biochemistry & Biophysics
  • Connie Eble, English and Comparative Literature
  • Susan Ennett, Health Behavior
  • Laurel Files, Health Policy & Management
  • Anthony Hackney, Exercise & Sport Science
  • Hugon Karwowski, Physics and Astronomy
  • Scott Kirsch, Geography
  • Beth Kurtz-Costes, Psychology
  • David Leith, Environmental Sciences & Engineering
  • Carol Lucas, Biomedical Engineering
  • Cecelia Martinez-Gallardo, Political Science
  • Kathy Moore, Nursing
  • Shu Wen Ng, Nursing
  • Ceib Phillips, Dentistry
  • Patricia Sawin, American Studies
  • Morris Weinberger, Health Policy and Administration

Previous Faculty Board Members

  • Marc Alperin, Marine Sciences
  • Pete Andrews, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
  • Stephen Birdsall, Geography
  • Kerry Bloom, Biology
  • Melissa Bullard, History
  • Tom Carsey, Political Science
  • Betsy Crais, Allied Health Sciences
  • Jean Dennison, Anthropology
  • Jo Anne Earp, Health Behavior and Health Education
  • Glen Elder, Sociology
  • Ann Erickson, Biochemistry and Biophysics
  • Carl Ernst, Religious Studies
  • Beverly Errede, Biochemistry
  • Terence Evens, Anthropology
  • Susan Friel, Education
  • Maeda Galinsky, Social Work
  • Jeff Greene, Education
  • Boka Hadzija, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Jacquelyn Hall, History
  • T. Kenneth Harden, Pharmacology
  • Jonathan Hartlyn, Political Science
  • Jonathan Hess, Germanic Languages
  • Mark Hollins, Psychology
  • Joe Ibrahim, Biostatistics
  • Rudolph Juliano, Pharmacology
  • Tom Kawula, Microbiology and Immunology
  • Mike Lambert, African American Studies, American Studies
  • Laurie Langbauer, English
  • Susan Lord, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
  • Flora Lu, Anthropology
  • Laurie Maffly-Kipp, Religious Studies
  • John P. McGowan, English
  • Joe Myers, Human Movement Science
  • Laurie Paul, Philosophy
  • Jesse Prinz, Philosophy
  • Steve Reznick, Psychology
  • Peter Robinson, Geography
  • Dwight Rogers, Education
  • Robert Rosenberg, Pharmacology
  • Kathleen Rounds, Social Work
  • Margarete Sandelowski, Nursing
  • Mark Schoenfisch, Chemistry
  • Richard Smith, Statistics
  • Judy Tisdale, Business
  • Ivana Vuletic, Slavic Languages
  • Heather Williams, History
  • Julia Wood, Communication Studies